Sunday, October 22, 2023

The Message of the New Testament Summarized

The New Testament is made up of 27 books, each with its own theme. Here's my somewhat reductionistic attempt to summary those themes. I'm sure you can improve them!

Matthew: The long-awaited Messiah
Mark: The Servant of the Lord
Luke: The Savior of the world
John: The Lord of lords
Acts: To the ends of the earth
Romans: Becoming right with God
1 Corinthians: Life in the local church
2 Corinthians: Power in weakness
Galatians: Only one gospel
Ephesians: God's new society
Philippians: Unity through humility
Colossians: Christ is supreme
1 Thessalonians: How to please God
2 Thessalonians: Our coming King
Titus: Good works and the Christian
Philemon: Freedom in Christ
Hebrews: Christ above all
James: Tests of faith
1 Peter: The way of the cross
2 Peter: The promise of his coming
1 John: Living in the love of God
2 John: Living in the truth
3 John: Living in discernment
Jude: The God of protection
Revelation: Heaven revealed